Commonwealth Games Team Announced

Written by  Thursday, 05 June 2014 15:56

Badminton Australia and the Australian Commonwealth Games Association have today announced a 10 strong team to compete in next month’s Commonwealth Games in Glasgow Scotland. The team has a strong mix of experience and youth and will be looking to improve upon their quarter final result from the team event, and add to the one bronze medal in the individual event four years ago in India.

Ross Smith and Glenn Warfe will be returning for their third Commonwealth Games after competing together in 2006 and 2010. At the Glasgow games they will each have a new partner with Smith teaming with Robin Middleton and Warfe with Raymond Tam. Both Middleton and Tam will be making their Commonwealth Games debut.

Rounding out the team on the men’s side is singles player Jeff Tho. Tho competed in India four years ago and won his first Oceania Championships title earlier this year to help earn selection.

After winning a bronze medal in the women’s doubles in 2010, He Tian (Rosy) Tang will be competing in her second Commonwealth Games, this time teaming with Renuga Veeran who will also be at her second Games. The experienced pair is one of the team’s best medal chances after a strong run of form that has seen them claim three titles in the last 6 months.

While they will be making their debut The Games, Jacqueline Guan, Verdet Kessler and Gronya Somerville all have international experience that belies their years. All three are under 21 years of age but have already competed in both Uber and Sudirman Cups, as well as an array of international tournaments which is sure to hold them in good stead for The Games.

Badminton Australia High Performance Director Lasse Bundgaard was excited about the team announcement. “We have put a strong, well balanced team together with some great chances to win medals. It’s both a team for now and a team for the future.”

The will depart Australia for a one week training camp in Derby, England on July 14 before heading into The Games village in Glasgow prior to Opening Ceremony on July 23.

The full team is listed below

2014 National Squad

Robin Middleton (Vic)Verdet Kessler (SA)
Jeff Tho (Vic)Jacqueline Guan (Vic)
Ross Smith (Vic)Gronya Somerville (Vic)
Raymond Tam (NSW)He Tian (Rosy) Tang (Vic)
Glenn Warfe (Vic)Renuga Veeran (Vic)

Lasse Bundgaard
Ricky Yu
Rhonda Cator

Rate this item
(1 Vote)

BWF News

Sponsors & Partners