National Squad for 2013

Written by  Thursday, 20 December 2012 18:53

BA Announces National Squads for 2013.

Badminton Australia has named both its Junior and Senior National Squads for the coming year with 38 players targeted for 2013. The National Squad will comprise of 6 male and 8 female players, while the Junior Squad will focus on 13 boys and 11 girls.

Sawan Serasinghe and Matt Chau will be joining the National Squad in 2013 in an attempt to make the jump up from Junior to Senior level. They will join fellow Men's doubles players Robin Middleton, Ross Smith, Ray Tam and Glen Warfe.

Renuga Veeran and Leanne Choo will be staying on after their London Olympic Quarter Final effort alongside the up and coming Women's Doubles Pair of Gronya Somerville and Jacqueline Guan. Victoria Na will lead the Women's Singles Players with future prospects Verdet Kessler, Joy Lai and Tara Pilven also being named.

Men's singles players for the National Squad are yet to be confirmed and will be named at a later date.

The National Junior Squad in 2013 will have a larger focus on the players gaining more international experience while at the same time ensuring they have a well-structured high performance training environment.

The squad will include 2012 World Junior Championships team members Cham Chen, Daniel Guda, Athi Selladurai, Gronya Somerville and Natasha Sharp. Alongside them will be several younger players such as U15 boys singles and doubles champion Huaidong Tang.

Please see below for a full list of the 2013 National Squads.

2013 National Squad

Elite Group - MenElite Group - Women
Glenn Warfe (Vic) - DoublesRenuga Veeran (Vic) - Doubles
Ross Smith (Vic) - DoublesLeanne Choo (SA) - Doubles
Robin Middleton (Vic)- Doubles

Development Group - MenDevelopment Group - Women
Raymond Tam (Vic) - DoublesGronya Somerville (Vic) - Doubles
Sawan Serasinghe (Vic) - DoublesJacqueline Guan (Vic) - Doubles
Matthew Chau (Vic) - DoublesJoy Lai (Vic) – Singles
Tara Pilven (Vic)– Singles
Verdet Kessler (SA) - Singles
Victoria Na (Vic)- Singles

2013 National Junior Squad

Elite Junior Group - BoysElite Junior Group - Girls
Daniel Guda (NSW)Joy Lai (Vic)
Anthony Joe (ACT)Grace Ngiam (Qld)
Gronya Somerville (Vic)

Development Junior Group - BoysDevelopment Junior Group - Girls
Cham Chen (NSW)Vinning Mak (Vic)
Athithan Selladurai (Vic)Grace Ngiam (Qld)
Eric Vuong (Vic)Buddhima Fernando (NSW)
Seng Low (NSW)Phing Teo (WA)
Toby Wong (NSW)Alice Wu (Vic)
Huaidong Tang (NSW)Jennifer Tam (NSW)
Justin Lee (NSW)Tiffany Ho (NSW)
Tyzton Tan (WA)Janet Son (NSW)
Lin Ying Xiang (WA)
Gavin Ho (Vic)
Austin Yu (NSW)

Rate this item
(0 votes)

BWF News

Sponsors & Partners