National Junior Squad

Written by  Wednesday, 18 April 2012 22:02

The National Junior Squad aims to identify and develop the top junior players from across the country with the aim of progressing players to meet the “Winning Edge” targets as outlined in the Badminton Australia High Performance Plan. You can make a difference to the growth of our sport and the journey of our most gifted young players by making a tax-deductible contribution to the Australian Sports Foundation, no amount is too small. Follow the link below for further information.


Nomination and Selection Criteria

Athlete Pathway
National Junior Squad Guidelines
2018 NJS Application Form
U19 Elite Development Squad Specific Selection Criteria
U17 Youth Development Squad Specific Specific Selection Criteria
U15 Future Development Squad Specific Selection Criteria
2018 Junior High Performance Calendar



2018 National Junior Squads


U15 Future Development Squad

Ricky Tang (NSW)
Otto Zhao (VIC)
Asher Ooi (NSW)
Don Bui (SA)
Austin Chen (NSW)
Jack Yu (QLD)


Priska Kustiadi (NSW)
Sydney Go (VIC)
Carina Sam (NSW)
Gloria Li (VIC)
Dania Nugroho (SA)
Yee-Yuan Lim (VIC)
Catrina Tan (SA)


U17 Youth Development Squad

Theodore Kang (WA)
Gavin Ong (SA)
Rayne Wang (VIC)
Ryan Venpin (VIC)
Rio Agustino (NSW)
Ethan Chen (NSW)
Hong Yuan Wong (WA)


Bernice Teoh (WA)
Majan Almazan (NSW)
Amelia Lowe (NSW)
Kelly Xu (NSW)
Elysia Viravong (NT)
Kaitlyn Ea (VIC)
Angela Yu (QLD)


U19 Elite Development Squad

Peter Yan (VIC)
Kai Chen Teoh (WA)
Jonathon Wong (SA)
Marcus Kong (VIC)
Dimitri Han (VIC)


Maggie Chan (NSW)
Zecily Fung (NSW)
Maya Grills (VIC)
Nalini Kuhanandha (VIC)
Jodee Vega (NSW)



2018 National Junior Coaches

U15 - Lenny Permana

U17 - Brianada Koentjoro

U19 - Stuart Rowlands


2018 Junior High Performance Calendar



2018 National Junior Selectors

Badminton Australia appoints an U19 Coach and two other selectors in December for the following 12 months. The National Junior Selectors for 2018 are:

  • Brent Munday
  • Stuart Rowlands
  • Brandon Olver


The key role of the National Junior Selectors is to recommend to the Board for ratification:

  • all junior teams or individuals to represent Australia in competition based on selection criteria approved by the Board from time to time;
  • Team Captains of Australian teams;
  • Members of the National Junior Squads and any other national junior squads as named from time to time;
  • Australian junior player rankings for events where rankings are completed.


National Junior Selectors also carry out a number of other duties and obligations. These are to:

  • attend meetings called during the Carnivals by the Junior Development Manager or Chairman of Selectors;
  • ensure that at least one selector is in attendance at all National Junior Carnivals;
  • abstain from involvement in any other duty that precludes them from freedom to pursue selection duties;
  • refrain from release of selection information to any source, until that information is released by the Junior Development Manager to the Board of the Association, and by them to the players concerned, and subsequently to the press and public;
  • abstain from selection discussions when a member of the Selector's own family is involved. In such cases the decisions will be as decided by the remaining members of the Committee.



2018 Junior High Performance Committee

The Junior High Performance Committee (JHPC) is responsible for the development of Badminton Australia’s national junior program, its directions and policies. The work of the JHPC is coordinated by the Junior Development Manager in consultation with the Board Member responsible for Junior Development. The Junior High Performance Committee consists of the following people in 2018:

  • Glenn Warfe (Junior Development Manager)
  • Kam Joe (Board Member)
  • Stuart Rowlands
  • Gillian Patmore


The Junior High Performance Committee's objectives are to:

  • plan and implement the national junior program including junior participation in the sport, training and development of talented junior players, talent identification and articulation along national junior development pathways;
  • liaise with State/Territory Associations ensuring a cohesive approach to junior development for the sport;
  • liaise with other organisations on matters relevant to improving junior development programs;
  • develop policies and procedures relevant to the needs and aspirations of junior badminton players and present these to the Badminton Australia Board for approval.


The Junior High Performance Committee's duties are to:

  • develop an annual plan of activities for the Committee, including outcomes, detailing the proposed budget required to meet these outcomes;
  • develop and review on an ongoing basis, the national junior program;
  • drive the process of developing junior policies and procedures which ensure safe, fun and rewarding sporting experiences for juniors in badminton;
  • meet regularly to plan and review progress towards planned outcomes;
  • liaise with other Badminton Australia Committees to achieve shared outcomes;
  • together with the Tournament Committee, review the national junior carnival structure (Under 15, Under 17, Under 19) and carnival by-laws to ensure they are relevant and focused on the goals and objectives of junior badminton;
  • to monitor junior programs on an ongoing basis and provide feedback on the quality, relevance and outcomes of programs;
  • report regularly to the Board and other stakeholders on progress towards achieving planned outcomes; 
  • seek and encourage involvement in professional development opportunities for coaches, technical officials and administrators in junior badminton;
  • ensure junior development is a key element in every national conference;
  • to provide a report each September for the Badminton Australia Annual Report.


Applications to be a National Junior Selector or a Junior High Performance Committee Member must be made to Badminton Australia on the appropriate nomination form by 30 September each year. Please contact the Badminton Australia (03) 9397 4722.



Rate this item
(5 votes)


Sponsors & Partners